If at first you don’t succeed… hope that 3rd time’s the charm!

My dear readers. You have read of my sad adventures with my gardening in previous posts of not succeeding…I tried inside a greenhouse. https://perceptivedelectables.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/my-lack-of-greenhouse-effect-has-affected-my-gardening/.  And I tried outside, with hope of new beginnings https://perceptivedelectables.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/garden-love-connection-new-beginnings/. Well- needless to say the outside part, so far, seems to be failing. We had a 5 day non stop rain, with about 80% rain on the 6th day and 50% rain on the 7th day. My poor baby plants (like my cherry tomato above) all pretty much died off or got to a point where they are struggling in the finally sunny day today. Too much water and the cold ground was not a good place for such innocent roots and pairs of leaves – such as those of my zucchini, pumpkins, and watermelon. Even my potato plants were very yellow and withery.

So- I’m hanging on the thread that 3rd times the charm with planting. I am going to work on fencing off the area with some bird netting and bamboo sticks so my chickens and dogs can’t walk through the whole area. I’m praying for sunshine with the occasional rain and a long enough growing season for a good harvest. And I’m starting fresh with some new seeds after the waterlogged mud garden dries out a bit the next few days.

Wish me luck! And I’d love to hear your stories of loss and gain with your gardening (it would be seriously encouraging to get some positive stories!)

Night!

Leave your perception...

